Advisory Board

Advisory Board

Supporting innovative science

Outstanding experts make up CARB-X’s Advisory Boards, which include both a pre-award Advisory Board that reviews proposals and a post-award Advisory Board that reviews milestone achievement and Option plans. The Advisory Board ensures the highest scientific standards in evaluating applications for CARB-X funding. Every member of the CARB-X Advisory Board completes a conflict-of-interest-process and is excluded from participation in the review or approval of any application with which they have a conflict of interest. They also sign a non-disclosure agreement. We thank them sincerely for their work.

This is a snapshot of reviewers who participated in the 2019 funding rounds. They are exemplary of the types of expertise we use on our Advisory Board

Robert Ballas
Biomarker Associates, Inc.

Michael Barbachyn
Calvin College

Ellen Jo Baron
Prof. Emerita, Stanford University School of Medicine

Greg Basarab
Drug Discovery & Development Centre (H3D); University of Cape Town (UCT)

Keith A Bostian
Institute for Life Science Entrepreneurship

Patricia Bradford
Antimicrobial Development Specialists, LLC

Pamela Brown
Independent Consultant, Pam Brown Consulting Ltd

Karen Bush
Indiana University

Joseph Campbell

Adam Clark

Bob Clay
Highbury Regulatory Science

Peter Coderre
Antimicrobial Regulatory Consulting

David Cook
Forma Therapeutics

Timothy Cooke
Ology Bioservices

Robin Cooper
Cooper Consulting Inc

Lloyd Czaplewski
Chemical Biology Ventures Ltd

Shampa Das

Joseph Anthony Devito
Independent Consultant

Thomas J Dougherty
Dept of Microbiology Harvard Medical School

Jacques Dumas
Arrakis Therapeutics

Paul Eder

Alice L Erwin
Erwin Consulting, LLC

Marta Fernandez Suarez

Tony Ford-Hutchinson
Independent Consultant

Francois Franceschi

Carrie Furr
Bacteriophage & Drug Development Consultants LLC

Humphrey Gardner
Silicone Therapeutics

Debbie Goff
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, OSU College of Pharmacy

Alan Goldberg

Mark Goldberger

Herman Goossens
University Hospital Antwerp

Howard Haimes

Sally Hojvat
Partners in Diagnostics, LLC

Amanda Hortsman
Department of Defense (DTRA)

Joe Iaconis
Independent Consultant

Richard James
Developing Novel Antibiotics Consultancy

Zoltan Kanyo
Independent Consultant

Randall Kincaid
Independent Consultant

Jacqueline Kirchner
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Toni Kline
Independent Consultant

Marina Kozak

Sushmita Lahiri
Boehringer Ingelheim

Malen Link

Mathew Lo
Exosis Inc

Richard Malley
Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School

Frederic J Marsik
Independent Consultant

Marielena Mata

Helen McShane
University of Oxford

Chris Meda

Mike Merchlinsky

Linda Miller
CMID Pharma Consulting, LLC

Paul Miller
Artizan Biosciences

Marshall Morningstar
Independent Consultant

Larry Mortin
McCarthy Consultants

Wright Nichols
Independent Consultant

Sylvia Norman
Sandhill Crane Diagnostics, Inc.

Anna O’rourke

Jordan Plieskatt
Praestans Biosciences LLC

Krishna Prasad
Citranvi, LLC

Steven J Projan
Beat the Reaper

George Franklin Risi

Alec Ritchie

Bill Rodriguez
Draper Richards Kaplan Foundation

Claire Sadler
Independent Consultant

Patrick Sanz

Karen Joy Shaw
Hearts Consulting Group

Anita Sheoran

Nicola Shepherd
Bellows Consulting

David Shlaes
Anti-Infectives Consulting LLC

Lynn L Silver
LL Silver Consulting, LLC

Jared Adam Silverman
Gates Medical Research Institute

Kathryn Stein
Kathryn Stein Consulting

Robert Suva
Independent Consultant

Brian Tse

Janet White
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Sabiha Yusuf Essack
University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)